Advertise | Subscribe | Contact Us | About Us

Champion Spark Plug Motorsports Representative John Glover Receives Prestigious NASCAR Buddy Shuman Award

December 21, 2005

John Glover, who for more than two decades has been the "go-to guy" for NASCAR Cup Series engine tuners seeking the latest spark plug technologies, received the prestigious 2005 NASCAR Buddy Shuman Award during a Dec. 2 ceremony in New York City. Presented annually by NASCAR, the Shuman Award recognizes an individual who has made a significant contribution to the growth of Cup Series racing.

Glover, who since 1960 has been the primary motorsports representative for Federal-Mogul Corporation's Champion spark plug brand, is one of few non-racing figures to have received the Shuman award. Throughout his 45 years with Champion, Glover has worked closely with leading teams in virtually every popular form of racing, including Formula One, CART and NASCAR Cup competition. Since the early 1980s he has focused his attention on the ever-increasing power demands of NASCAR engines and played a vital role in establishing Champion as the most successful brand of spark plugs in modern Cup Series applications.

"John may not be known by racing fans but he's a very important figure within the pit area and in NEXTEL Cup engine building operations," said Jay Burkhart, vice president of global marketing for Federal-Mogul. "His talents help Champion provide plug technologies that power race-winning performance; NASCAR engine tuners, drivers and team owners clearly value his contribution to their success. We at Federal-Mogul are proud to call John one of our own."

Glover's efforts also have helped drive the substantial growth and unprecedented success of the Champion brand in NASCAR competition. Champion plugs have powered four consecutive - and five of the past six - Cup Series champions, including 2005 NEXTEL Cup winner Tony Stewart. The brand claimed wins in 22 of 36 Cup events this year.

Louis Grier "Buddy" Shuman was a pioneer NASCAR Grand National driver and tough competitor who was well respected by his peers. He died in a hotel fire in 1955. NASCAR established the Buddy Shuman Award in 1957 to recognize outstanding contributions to NASCAR racing. Other recent Shuman Award winners have included Richard Petty, Rick Hendrick, Dave Marcis and Chris Economaki. Federal-Mogul's John Glover now joins this exclusive racing fraternity with the 2005 award.

© Copyright 2014 Babcox Media, Inc. All Rights Reserved
3550 Embassy Parkway, Akron, OH 44333
(FAX) 330-670-0874